Dietary Categories

Dietary Categories

Vegan

If an Accommodating Table recipe is designated Vegan, no ingredient in that recipe is derived from animals. Our Vegan recipes exclude meat, fish, seafood, eggs, dairy, and honey; however, they do not exclude white sugar and wine, which are avoided by some vegans because small amounts of animal products are sometimes used in their processing.

Vegetarian

If an Accommodating Table recipe is designated as Vegetarian, its ingredients do not contain meat, poultry, fish, or seafood. Eggs and dairy products are not excluded in Accommodating Table’s Vegetarian recipes; however, they are excluded in our Vegan recipes. Also, products made from meat, poultry, fish, or seafood; e.g., Worcestershire sauce (anchovies), chicken/beef stock and broth are excluded ingredients in Accommodating Table’s Vegetarian recipes.

Gluten-free

While some products do not contain gluten, they may be processed in a facility that also processes wheat, rye, and barley. Nutrition and ingredients labels should reveal whether cross-contamination with gluten may have occurred during processing. Due to the potential for cross-contamination of soy in the processing of wheat, Accommodating Table’s recipes with soy as an ingredient, (as well as recipes which include wheat, barley, and rye) are excluded in the Gluten-Free category. Recipes with oats as an ingredient are not so excluded. While AccommodatingTable.com does not endorse any particular product, in some instances, we may direct a Host to a specific product which is represented to be Gluten-Free. We have found the following products or brands may be useful in preparing Gluten-Free Accommodating Table recipes: https://www.accommodatingtable.com/gluten-free/

Dairy-free

If an Accommodating Table recipe is designated as Dairy-Free its ingredients do not contain milk or any dairy (milk-derived) products such as butter, yogurt, sour cream, cream cheese, cottage cheese, ice cream, whey, casein, heavy cream, half and half, and all types of cheeses. While AccommodatingTable.com does not endorse any particular product, in some instances, we may direct a Host to a specific product which is represented to be Dairy-Free. We have found the following products or brands may be useful in preparing Dairy-Free Accommodating Table recipes: https://www.accommodatingtable.com/dairy-free/

Nut-free

If an Accommodating Table recipe is designated Nut-Free it is free of all tree nuts, including almonds, cashews, hazelnuts, macadamia nuts, pecans, piñon (pine) nuts, pistachios, and walnuts. In addition, Accommodating Table’s Nut-Free recipes do not include peanuts or peanut butter. While some products do not contain nuts, they may be processed in a facility that also processes nuts. Nutrition and ingredients labels should reveal whether cross-contamination with nuts may have occurred during processing.